You are here

The Booker Prize 1993

The Booker Prize 1993

The Booker of Bookers

To mark the 25th anniversary of the prize, three former chairs of the judges: Malcolm Bradbury, David Holloway and W.L. Webb, were asked to choose their ‘Booker of Bookers’. Salman Rushdie’s Midnight’s Children originally won the prize in 1981. Rushdie described it as ‘the greatest compliment I have ever been paid as a writer.’

The Winner

Midnight’s Children

By Salman Rushdie

Published by Hodder & Stoughton 

Born at the stroke of midnight on August 15, 1947, at the precise moment of India’s independence, the infant Saleem Sinai is celebrated in the press and welcomed by Prime Minister Nehru himself. But this coincidence of birth has consequences Saleem is not prepared for: telepathic powers that connect him with 1,000 other “midnight’s children” – all born in the initial hour of India’s independence – and an uncanny sense of smell that allows him to sniff out dangers others can’t perceive. Inextricably linked to his nations, Saleem’s biography is a whirlwind of disasters and triumphs that mirror the course of modern India at its most impossible and glorious.