You are here

Key dates of the Man Booker International Prize 2016

Key dates of the Man Booker International Prize 2016

Diary Note

Key dates of newly evolved prize

The first cycle of the newly evolved Man Booker International Prize takes place this spring. Having joined forces with the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize, it will complement the Man Booker Prize for Fiction by rewarding the best book translated into English. Its aim is to encourage more publishing and reading of quality works in translation and to give greater recognition to the role of translators. The judges will select the ‘Man Booker dozen’ of 12 or 13 books in March, followed by a shortlist of six in April, with the winner announced in May 2016.

The key dates are:

10 March 2016              Longlist Announcement

14 April 2016                Shortlist Announcement

16 May 2016                  Winner Announcement at a dinner at the V&A in London

The prize will be awarded annually for a single book, translated into English and published in the UK, rather than every two years for a body of work. Both novels and collections of short stories are eligible. In addition, the work of translators will now be directly rewarded, with the new £50,000 prize being divided equally between the author and the translator of the winning entry. Also each shortlisted author and translator will receive £1,000, bringing the total prize fund to £62,000 per year.

The 2016 panel is chaired by Boyd Tonkin, Senior Writer at the Independent, and includes: anthropologist and novelist Tahmima Anam; academic David Bellos, who is currently Professor of French and Comparative Literature and Director of the Program in Translation and Intercultural Communication at Princeton University; editor and academic Daniel Medin, who holds a comparative literature professorship at the American University of Paris (AUP); and prize-winning British poet and author Ruth Padel.


Together, the two Man Booker Prizes reward the best books from around the globe, as long as those books have a publisher in the UK and are available in English.  |  @ManBookerPrize  |  #MBI2016  #FinestFiction


- Ends -

For press enquiries please contact:  | + 44 (0) 20 3697 4243  | + +44 20 3697 4248


Notes to Editors:

·         The Administrator of the Man Booker International Prize is Fiammetta Rocco – Books and  Arts Editor of The Economist. The Literary Director of the Booker Prize Foundation is Gaby Wood, who succeeded Ion Trewin after his death in April 2015


·         Books under consideration have been published in English in translation by UK publishers between 1 January 2015 and 30 April 2016. This will become an annual process, with the period of publication in subsequent years being from 1 May until 30 April the following year


·         There is no restriction on the number of submissions per publisher but this will be kept under review and may change in future years


·         Four Colman Getty handles PR and event management for the prize and provides all events and administrative back-up


·         The Man Booker International Prize website includes detailed information about all aspects of the prize and runs regular news bulletins:


·         The Booker Prize Foundation Advisory Committee, which advises on any changes to the rules and on the selection of the judges, represents all aspects of the book world. Its members are:  Richard Cable – publisher, Random House;  Mark Chilton – Company Secretary and General Counsel of Booker Group plc; Jonty Claypole – Head of Arts, BBC; James Daunt – Managing Director of Waterstones; Jonathan Douglas – Director of the National Literacy Trust; Maggie Fergusson – writer and Secretary of the Royal Society of Literature; Adam Freudenheim – publisher, Pushkin Press; Derek Johns – Author & Literary Agent; Peter Kemp – Chief Fiction Reviewer, The Sunday Times; Nigel Newton – publisher, Bloomsbury; Fiammetta Rocco – Books and Arts Editor, The Economist (Man Booker International Prize Administrator); Emmanuel Roman – Chief Executive Officer, Man Group; Eve Smith – Secretary, the Booker Prize Foundation; Robert Topping - Topping & Company Booksellers.


·  The Booker Prize Foundation is a registered charity (no 1090049) established in 2002, since when it has been responsible for the award of the Man Booker Prize for Fiction, and for the Man Booker International Prize since its inauguration in 2005. The trustees of the Booker Prize Foundation are: Baroness Kennedy QC – Chair, former Chair of the British Council and Principal of Mansfield College, Oxford; Lord Baker of Dorking CH; Bidisha – writer, critic and broadcaster; Victoria Glendinning CBE – biographer; James Naughtie – broadcaster; Christopher Pearce – former Finance Director of Rentokil plc; Dr Louise Richardson – Vice Chancellor of the University of Oxford; Ben Okri – writer and former Man Booker Prize winner. Jonathan Taylor CBE is President of the Foundation and Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne, Sir Ronald Harwood and Baroness Neuberger are Vice Presidents.


  • Man Group has sponsored the Man Booker Prize since 2002. A leading alternative investment management firm founded in 1783, Man Group was recognised as a partner who mirrored the quality, integrity and longevity of the Booker Prize. The prize underscores Man Group's charitable focus on literacy and education as well as the firm’s commitment to excellence and entrepreneurship. Together with the wider charitable activities of the Booker Prize Foundation, the prize plays a very important role in promoting literary excellence on a global scale that the firm is honoured to support


·         Man Group is one of the world’s largest independent alternative investment managers, and a leader in liquid investment strategies. Across its four investment managers (Man AHL, Man FRM, Man GLG and Man Numeric), Man Group has diverse hedge fund strategies and long only products spanning equity, credit, managed futures, convertibles, emerging markets and multi-manager solutions. At 30 September 2015, Man Group’s funds under management were $76.8 billion. The original business was founded in 1783. Today, Man Group plc is listed on the London Stock Exchange under the ticker EMG.L and is a constituent of the FTSE 250 Index. Man Group supports many awards, charities and initiatives around the world, including sponsorship of the Man Booker literary prizes. Further information can be found at


·         Booker is the UK's leading food wholesaler with over 170 branches nationwide.  It serves over 350,000 independent businesses


·         The Independent Foreign Fiction Prize joined forces with the Man Booker International Prize in 2015. Last year’s winner of the IFFP was The End of Days by Jenny Erpenbeck, translated from German by Susan Bernofsy and published by Portobello Books. The IFFP was launched in 1990 and ran until 1995. The Prize was revived with the support of Arts Council England in 2001 and has been managed by reading charity Book Trust for the last five years. The £10,000 prize money and associated costs are supported using public funding by Arts Council England, and the Prize was also supported by The Independent and Champagne Taittinger