You are here

2011 Man Booker Prize shortlist announced

2011 Man Booker Prize shortlist announced

Julian Barnes, Carol Birch, Patrick deWitt, Esi Edugyan, Stephen Kelman and A.D. Miller are today, Tuesday 6 September, announced as the six shortlisted authors for the 2011 Man Booker Prize for Fiction.

The Man Booker Prize has been described variously as ‘Posh bingo' and ‘the indispensable literary thermometer'. Whatever your view, each year the prize promotes the finest in new fiction and rewards the year's best novel, securing international renown for its shortlisted and longlisted authors and giving book lovers worldwide a choice reading list.

With such differing titles on this year's shortlist, there is sure to be great debate over who will win the coveted prize on 18 October. The judges' selection includes two first time novelists - Stephen Kelman and A.D. Miller - while four of the books are from independent publishers. Of the six writers, two have enjoyed success with the prize in the past. Julian Barnes has been shortlisted three times for Arthur and George (2005), England, England (1998) and Flaubert's Parrot (1984), while Carol Birch was longlisted in 2003 for Turn Again Home. Two Canadian writers feature on the shortlist - Patrick deWitt and Esi Edugyan - along with four British novelists.

The shortlist was announced by Chair of Judges, author and former Director-General of MI5 Dame Stella Rimington, at a press conference held at Man's London headquarters.

The six books, selected from the longlist of 13, are as follows:

- Julian Barnes, The Sense of an Ending (Jonathan Cape - Random House)

- Carol Birch, Jamrach's Menagerie (Canongate Books)

- Patrick deWitt, The Sisters Brothers (Granta)

- Esi Edugyan, Half Blood Blues (Serpent's Tail)

- Stephen Kelman, Pigeon English (Bloomsbury)

- A.D. Miller, Snowdrops (Atlantic)

Chair of judges, Dame Stella Rimington, comments: "Inevitably it was hard to whittle down the longlist to six titles. We were sorry to lose some great books. But, when push came to shove, we quickly agreed that these six very different titles were the best."

The winner of the 2011 Man Booker Prize for Fiction will be announced on Tuesday 18 October at a dinner at London's Guildhall and will be broadcast on the BBC. The winner will receive £50,000 and each of the six shortlisted authors, including the winner, will receive £2,500 and a designer bound edition of their book. Last year's winner, The Finkler Question by Howard Jacobson, has sold over 250,000 copies in the UK alone.

The judges for the 2011 Prize are writer and journalist, Matthew d'Ancona; author, Susan Hill; author and politician, Chris Mullin; and Head of Books at the Daily Telegraph, Gaby Wood. Dame Stella Rimington is the Chair.

In the lead up to the winner announcement there will be a number of exclusive Man Booker Prize events with the shortlisted authors. These include: a public event at the Apple Store, Covent Garden on 13 October; a special evening at the British Library to acknowledge the important role of libraries for readers and writers on 11 October, and a public event with the shortlisted authors in association with Waterstone's on 17 October. Details will be announced on the Man Booker Prize website shortly.

For further information about the prize please visit or follow the prize on Twitter @ManBookerPrize or on Facebook.

For all press enquiries please contact:

Jill Cotton or Katy MacMillan-Scott at Colman Getty

Tel: 020 7631 2666 / Email: /